3rd Indiapost Cricket Cup

1. Department of Posts launched an Inter Institutional Cricket Tournament: India Post Cricket Cup, in the year 2010. The tournament is played under the aegis of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in terms of their rules and regulations.
2. The first edition of the tournament was played at Kolkata in January 2010 in which, besides India Post, teams from Services (combined), Air India, Central Revenues, BSNL and Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) participated. The tournament was won by BSNL. The second edition of the tournament took place in Chennai in June 2011. Here also six teams participated: RBI came in place of Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) and Indian Income Tax participated in lieu of Central Revenue. The winner in 2011 was Services (combined). India Post Cricket Cup 2012 is scheduled to be held again at Kolkata from 6th February to 10th February 2012 where the following six teams will participate:
1. India Post

2. Services (combined)

3. Indian Income Tax

4. Comptroller & Auditor General

5. Customs & Central Excise

3. The tournament provides for Rs.25,000/- for each participating team and Rs.1,00,000/- and Rs.50,000/- for Winning and Runner Up teams respectively. Besides, there is a provision for Man of the Match (Rs.5,000/-) and Man of the Series (Rs.10,000/-) awards.
4. Department of Posts has been the only Central Government Department which has been able to organize such a tournament and it has been very well taken by all the participating teams and by the Sports Community. We have a number of requests pending from various Departments of the Central /State Governments/PSUs to participate in the tournament. The participating teams have players of high standard and a number of them are playing Ranji Trophy for their States.

No comments:

Post a Comment